Directorate of Refugee Administration


This Programme provides international protection and support to asylum seekers and refugees in Namibia. It further coordinates, facilitates and promotes the three durable solutions which are Local Integration, Voluntary Repatriation and Resettlement. This is done in accordance with the Namibia Refugees Recognition and Control Act of 1999 (Act No. 2 of 1999) and under the 1951 UN Conventions and the 1967 Protocol relating to the status of refugees, as well as the 1969 OAU Convention Governing the Specific Aspects of Refugee Problems in Africa.

Operational structure

The operational structure of the Directorate is headed by the Commissioner for Refugees, who is appointed in terms of Section 6 of the Namibia Refugee (Control and Recognition) Act of 1999 (Act 2 of 1999). The Commissioner for Refugees coordinate the implementation of refugee programmes in accordance with the provision of the Namibia Refugees (Recognition and Control) Act, 1999 (Act 2 of 1999) as well as the AU and UN Conventions on asylum seekers and refugees. The Directorate consists of two divisions: namely Refugee Programme Management, situated at the Ministry’s Headquarters in Windhoek and Reception and Settlement Areas which is located at Katima Mulilo in Zambezi region and Osire Settlement in Otjozondjupa region respectively.

For enquiries, kindly contact the Office of the Commissioner for Refugees at +264 819510211